Get Appy with Us!

Le goûter de Miss Spider is a wonderful French freebie! The language used is quite advanced, but my 4 and 5 year olds were able to sit tight and give a listen. I’m thinking that with time, this story will become more comprehensible for them, but in the meantime, the animation provided by the “regarder” button helps them for sure! You can choose to watch the animation, where the text is highlighted as it’s being read. The animation runs like a movie, so you can pause, rewind or fast forward. You cannot, however, interact with the “regarder” feature. When you choose the “lire” button, children have a chance to touch the pictures in order to make parts of them animate. There is also some fun to be had with the “Memory,” “Colorier,” and “Puzzle” buttons. I love the story and the lesson it teaches…don’t judge a book by its cover!

Miss Spider

Since the level of language being used in this story is so complex, I wouldn’t recommend this app for teachers with novice learners. I would, however, recommend it to parents raising their children bilingual children who have had previous exposure to the language for some time. The app is also available in English and Spanish. All versions are free. Here’s a video review of the English version. I’m looking forward to using this app again with my children soon!

Comments on: "Le goûter de Miss Spider" (2)

  1. Hi, do the apps need to be free? The reason I ask is that I’m working with a site and app called GrowStoryGrow and would love your feedback on it – but while there are codes for free reviews, the app itself is a paid for one.

    • Hi Craig! I am willing to pay for apps and am writing about paid and free apps in my new blog, They Appy Family. I’d be more than willing to give you feedback if GrowStoryGrow offers apps for young children in French. My children are currently 4 and almost 6. They have been learning French since birth and I would want the apps to be entirely in the target language. I’d also possibly be willing to look at Spanish apps for you, but for now, French is our preference. Let me know!

Leave a comment